Cupcake Drama

Got home from work this morning and passed out on the couch to MadMen. Good show! I couldn’t even make it to the bedroom. I finally crawled off the couch to run a few errands and decide on a menu to cook this evening.

The trail and I are becoming close companions these days, seeing as I venture upon her more often than not. I can never help myself when I pass the APA dog adoption trailer. I found a precious pit mix named Franklin and took him on a little walk to stretch his legs. Brian Jr. was pouting in the corner when he discovered my act of kindness. That dog.

Dinner went surprisingly well considering I did not follow a recipe. I am a “recipe follower” kind of gal. I made stuffed chicken breast. One with herbed goat cheese, sundried tomatoes and pan roasted garlic and another filled with the delights of all things my husband loves: mozarella, pesto, turkey pepperoni, sundried tomatoes and pan roasted garlic. They were very tasty and I was proud of myself. Dinner left us satisfied but desiring a morsel of sweetness. Matt has been determined that we will discover the secret behind Hey Cupcakes buttercream frosting.

We decided to venture out and make a batch. Here are the lessons learned when your husband joins you to bake cupcakes.

1. Never let a man wear your vintage-inspired, heart shaped, red polka dot apron with lace edging. It is too powerful for him and he will assume he can bake ANYTHING in the world.

2. If you add 3 drops of blue food coloring and 2 drops of yellow food coloring, you will create a color that perfectly matches my pistachio kitchen aid.

3. Adding 5 times the called for amount of confection sugar will indeed make your icing very very thick

4. Not being patient and softening your butter in the microwave in the wrapper and no bowl might possibly create a large butter filled river in your microwave

All in all they turned out very tasty. My dog had an amazing time licking up all the remnants of butter, sugar, flour and sprinkles from the floor.

I also wanted to include some pictures of future cupcake adventures I anticipate. My dear friend Laura has purchased some large tips for decorating and I can not wait for them to arrive. Bakeitpretty.com has the cutest selection of all things cupcake. Check it out!!

About Mrs. Clinks

I am a twenty something year old girl. This is the story of my life in Austin with my husband and my dog.
This entry was posted in Cooking, but mostly baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cupcake Drama

  1. elledee says:

    I am just now catching up on all your posts! I haven’t done anything blog related in over a week because I’ve been studying for GRE. I even scheduled blog posts on my blog two weeks in advance and haven’t been checking mine 😦

    This is awesome! You are going to have to show me how to make stuffed chicken. Also, I had never seen that anchor cupcake stuff, I want it! I hope that you got the tips I sent!

  2. lesli alison says:

    Oh, I left you a comment & it may or may not have “stuck”. Just wanted to say I love your blog-it is very cute. I found it via Elledee. I will be back! I hope this comment goes!

Leave a Reply

