Cupcakes Flair

I have recently joined a meetup group that shares a passion for cupcakes. It is the Austin Cupcake Meetup. I thought I couldnt go wrong enjoying my time meeting new people over cupcakes. The first event was this week and we met at a lovely venue called Parkside. The space itself had such an amazing vibe. We were pleasantly introduced to the Hey Cupcake! man himself, who brought us a variety of cupcakes from the original collection as well as a new flavor. We had the opportunity to critique the new pumpkin flavor before it debuts this fall. I found it very tasty myself. I do believe it could benefit from a little more all spice flavoring, but it was indeed very pumpkiny and paired lovely with their original cream cheese icing. A representative from Stella and Dot jewelry was also there and showing off the gorgeous new collection. Here are a couple of pieces I loved.

Her contact information is http://www.stelladot.com/marisawilliams if your interested in a local seller for the brand.

The next cupcake meetup will be a a fundraiser for the livestrong foundation. I was so excited to have the opportunity to bake for a good cause that I decided I needed to invest in some cupcake flair to make my cakes sell well. I found a little more than I expected but was able to purchase all the following items for $40 through Etsy seller Cupcake Social.

Pretty cute right? I think I might just turn that $40 into a little cash for a good cause. Now if I can only find the perfect buttercream recipe. Any suggestions?

– Whitt

About Mrs. Clinks

I am a twenty something year old girl. This is the story of my life in Austin with my husband and my dog.
This entry was posted in Happenings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cupcakes Flair

  1. elledee says:

    try this, my dear. It’s from my cake class:

    1 stick salted butter
    1 stick unsalted butter
    1 cup crisco
    2 lbs powdered sugar
    5 Tbsp liquid coffee creamer (plain or french vanilla)
    pinch of salt
    2 tsp vanilla extract

    then add more powdered sugar if you want thickness.

  2. lesli alison says:

    Your blog is adorable! I found you via Elledee–I will be back!

Leave a Reply

