Hug O Meter

When you work with people, it is inevitable that you will be introduced into their lives. You familiarize yourself with their entire medical history, every pill they pop down to the frequency and time of day. You know when they are depressed because they have been in constant pain for the past 4 weeks and are praying that this surgery will take it all away. You are also lucky enough to be introduced to their loved ones. Sometimes they annoy you with bothersome questions and details that the surgeon should have prepared them for initially. But sometimes they surprise you.

I had a patient wake up from surgery this afternoon and I realized I was no longer the nurse to this patient, but the bartender to a drunken man’s rants. This gentleman was going through a divorce after 30 plus years of marriage, 5 children, 10 grandchildren, and 4 great-grandchildren together. When I asked what happened (we were very close at this point) he informed me that she had found the comforts of another man. In sadness and with his voice full of regret he spoke the following advice to prevent me from having his own fate.

– Hold his hand. It is the simple things that you do that show you love him.

– Do not play games. Speak to each other. If there is something you want or need, than communicate that honestly. Men do not understand your hints. Just tell us(men) what you need and want.

– Hold on to the ones you love. Make him first. Take the time to hug each other. Do not waste your time with stupid arguments. In the end they will mean nothing. When you are alone you will dream of a simple hug or kiss.

I was reminded today how lucky I am to have such a wonderful husband, boyfriend, mate and partner in life, but above all a best friend. No relationship is perfect or will it ever be, but I feel very blessed to be loved.

Fill your hug o meter today.

Sorry for the cheesy post. 😉

-Whitt

About Mrs. Clinks

I am a twenty something year old girl. This is the story of my life in Austin with my husband and my dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hug O Meter

Leave a Reply

