Journey to a better me: Day One

So I decided awhile ago to make goals unique to different areas in my life that will improve myself as a better person. I decided to give myself 6 months to accomplish these changes. I love lists probably as much as I love guidelines, so I enjoyed limiting and challenging myself in every way I could. One area of my life that I am always working on is my physical health. I have a horrible habit which I hate to admit to anyone. I am terrible at finishing through with my fitness goals! There, I said it. There are the few goals here in there that I have accomplished, and I seem to use those as leverage when I am not able to accomplish something else. “Well, I did that so… I can do this..” as an example. So what is the answer? I decided to break down my goals in smaller time periods and vary them so I do not get bored. Hence, the 30 day challenge was born.

The first 30 days I decided to kick off strong and complete the 100 miles in 30 day challenge. I found a program and wrote it on my calendar. The planning phase of any new challenge is always my favorite part. Now, to follow through with it.

August 11, 2011 – Day One

Goal: Run 3 Miles

So I got home from work and immediately strapped on my laces just incase I got distracted and decided to do something else. I hit the pavement feeling good. Here is my pro/con results.

Con:

– It is like 110 degrees outside

– The sun feels like its burning my skin off

– My tummy hurt, I was a little gassy from my healthy lunch

– I ended up walking a little over the last mile due to my fear I would pass out. I was literally having images in my head of how the police would notify my husband of my death since I had no identification on.

Pro:

– I finished the mileage

– I greatly enjoyed the ice cold shower after

My overall impression of myself is not very good. I did however just get back from vacation and a 2 week workout hiatus. I also know I did not hydrate well today and feel the hills and heat were possibly a little too much for me. My plan to overcome these obstacles is to better hydrate myself and run on the treadmill if the temperature is over 100 degrees. I want to accomplish this goal, so limiting the obstacles and not making it too terribly impossible will limit the discouragement I might feel.

Heres to a better me!

– Whitt

About Mrs. Clinks

I am a twenty something year old girl. This is the story of my life in Austin with my husband and my dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

